Options

Transitioning Military Officer: MSCS UW-Madison or MS IT Management/MBA UW-Milwaukee?

usnapacker10usnapacker10 Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
I am a junior military officer with 5 years of leadership experience currently making the transition from the military to the civilian IT worlds, and I was hoping for some advice from those in the industry.

I have a BS CS/IT (dual major) from a US Service Academy, but I have had very limited technical experience over the past 5 years, as my roles have all been supervisory. I will be completing a 12-week Cyber Security internship at a F500 company this summer to gain some civilian IT infosec experience before starting school.

I have been accepted to Wisconsin-Madison's Computer Science Professional Master's Program (https://www.cs.wisc.edu/pmp[1] ) and Wisconsin-Milwaukee's MS-IT Management / MBA program (Master of Science in Management | MS.MBA | Lubar School of Business[2] ). Both would be free tuition provided by the Wisconsin GI Bill. Each program would allow me to work at least part-time, helping to offset the opportunity cost of attending school.

I've seen a lot of negativity towards MSCS degrees online, but I think an MSCS would help me gain advanced technical knowledge and refresh on my undergraduate education compared to staying completely managerial and completing the MS IT / MBA. I have no technology certs as of now, but am actively preparing to take the CISSP exam.

Would the MSCS from a top 15 school or would the MS IT Management / MBA from an unranked school make me most competitive for civilian IT jobs?

Thanks!

Comments

• Options
    Robertf969Robertf969 Member Posts: 190
    Sir,

Have you thought about going the GS route? I take it you are an S6? What branch of Military are you? A good portion of people on this forum are working students.
  • Options
    usnapacker10usnapacker10 Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□