Options

Moving To Colorado. What kind of salary to expect?

oxymoron5koxymoron5k Member Posts: 68 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hey guys, I will be moving to Fort Collins Colorado this July. I am curious on what kind of salary to expect there when I move. I have no idea what they pay over there. I know the cost of living is higher but it's hard to create a mock budget without and knowledge of pay grade. I thought it would be worth asking on here how much in general you think I could make with this as my experience:

I am a network technician for a mom and pop shop. I handle all kinds of network support for small business. My company is also a internet provider so I work with ISP technologies a lot as well. We are pretty much the tech company you call when something is broke regarding IT and we fix whatever it is.

Experience: 1st job in IT and I have worked here for 1 1/2 years.

Certs: A+, Network +

Any thoughts or advice on what to pursue would be greatly appreciated!! Thanks guys! I have no real interest in any specific field in IT.

Comments

• Options
    Anybody work in Colorado?
  • Options
    Codeman6669Codeman6669 Member Posts: 227
    Maybe they will pay you in weed. (duh duh tiss)

Honestly I dont know, but if you search IT jobs in that area like on Craigslist or other sites you can get a good idea of what they pay for what experience.
  • Options
    I have looked there and unfortunately I can not find any salaries listed. Which led to this post here.
  • Options
    stryder144stryder144 Member Posts: 1,684 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Honestly, Fort Collins is a small area. More than likely, you'll end up working in Boulder/Broomfield/Denver. If you apply for a job at a company like Level 3 Communications, I would imagine that you would be looking at roughly $20/hr to $25/hr.
    The easiest thing to be in the world is you. The most difficult thing to be is what other people want you to be. Don't let them put you in that position. ~ Leo Buscaglia