Options

Are sec+ and SSCP interchangeable?

jrel209jrel209 Member Posts: 21 ■□□□□□□□□□
I was curious because I'm currently studying for sec+ in labsims via WGU courses. And the objectives seem to be the same. While studying for the sec+ is it possible to study for the SSCP and should allow me to get both certs. Is yes, is their any adv in having both?
WGU B.S. IT - Security:: In Progress (17u): C170, C175, C246, C697
Required (38u): C698, C247, C484, C483, C176 , C179, C299, C435, C436
Completed(12u): ORA1, CUV1, CRV1, CTV1

Transferred (68u):
CLC1, TCP1, C393, C394, BVC1, IWT1, C278, INC1, WFV1, DJV1, TBP1, AGC1, EUC1, C132, EUP1, C277, IWC1, CJC1, DHV1, C164, C173

Comments

• Options
    tedjamestedjames Member Posts: 1,179 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I passed Security+ last August and then started on SSCP. I'm happy to say I passed the SSCP exam last Thursday 4/9. Although there is a lot of overlap, SSCP is tougher than Security+. When I looked back at my Security+ study materials and think about the test questions, I realized just how much easier Security+ was. I think it's safe to say that if you can pass SSCP, you'll pass Security+ -- but not the other way around. Also, I don't see any advantage to having them both. I came into the security field as a technical writer with only a little IT background and none in security and eventually moved into program management, incident management, etc., so I felt that it would be better for me to start at the bottom (Security+) and gradually work my way up. I'm about to start working toward CISSP. After that, CEH. I see Security+ and SSCP as stepping stones. You may decide to pursue the SSCP first. But if you do that, there's really no need to pursue Security+ after that.
  • Options
    Robertf969Robertf969 Member Posts: 190