Options

Question on what to do next..

(puma)(puma) Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
Long story short I was studying for my a+ cert, landed a job in the finance, network & fix support field. I have continued to study for the a+ but now I really feel like I'm wasting my time , because ultimately networking and security is really where I want to be. My question is should I stop and move on to study for the network+ exam, will it start me from the very beginning And enable me to learn from the ground up, would it enable a person with no network knowledge to be proficient by the end of the exam? I have a lot of basic knowledge from my day to day problems at work but would like to be extremely profficient and knowledgeable. Thanks in advance guys .

Comments

• Options
    tahjzhuantahjzhuan Member Posts: 288 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I would take the A+, Net+, Sec+ for foundation and then build on it.
  • Options
    ssnyderu2ssnyderu2 Member Posts: 475 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Network+ is basic, foundation material. If you really want to get into networking, Cisco is the ticket. If you are new to this then Network+ will give you the basics. then you can move on to your CCENT/CCNA. These days I have a hard time recommending CompTIA. They are very expensive. So if you know you want to do networking I would say skip A+, get your Network+ then move on to Cisco.
    2019 Goals: 70-698, CCENT, MCSA 2016
    Certifications: A+, Network+, Security+, CIW Foundations and MTA OS Fundamentals
    Cisco Lab :3x Cisco 2811 Routers, 3x Cisco 3750 Switches and Cisco 2620 Router with NM-32A module
    Windows Lab: Dual CPU Hyper-V server with 12 Cores/24 Threads, 96GB RAM and 2TB HDD.
    CANCER SURVIVOR! In Remission Since September 2016!
  • Options
  • Options
    orlandoflorlandofl Member Posts: 216 ■■■□□□□□□□