Options

Wanna get EC-Council CEH? Think again.

1235»

Comments

• Options
    TrashmanTrashman Member Posts: 140
    Read the books first and then I attended a $2400 official boot camp late last year in a foreign country and I passed the exam on the last day of the training.

The CEH exam is indeed pricey, no doubt and one should not brag about this cert (fancy name though!), but I had a good experience studying for this cert, meeting new tech people in a different country and the instructors were knowledgeable.

Learned a lot and had great fun.
    No complaints really.

Don't know if EC-Council has changed things over time, but this is for sure a harder exam than Sec+.
    Bachelor of Science in Information Systems
    2015 COLOR=#008000]X[/COLOR | 2016 COLOR=#ff8c00]In progress[/COLOR | 2017 | 2018
  • Options
    renacidorenacido Member Posts: 387 ■■■■□□□□□□
    My two cents...

I have 15 years infosec experience but was always in the net-defense, incident response, auditor, security manager, security engineer/architect, SOC lead roles. Always on defense. C|EH gave me a solid look into the attacker's mindset and a better understanding of their tactics. Good ROI for network defenders, infosec managers, etc. But not a one-and-done cert for full-time pentesters. But for pentesters C|EH has a place in the development track. One I would suggest for pentesters is:

Net+, CCNA, MSITP, Linux+ (or 1 year IT experience)
    Sec+/GSEC (or 2+ years doing security full-time)
    C|EH/GPEN
    Training (cert or not) in programming/scripting languages (javascript, C, Java)
    O'Reilly Python cert
    OSCP
    OSCE

For infosec, the track my analysts are on is:

- Pre-reqs for new hires:
    Net+, CCNA, MSITP, Sec+, GSEC, or CS/IT degree
    2+ years full-time IT experience
    **Experience and behavioral interview trumps all the above.**

- Vendor-specific security certs for tools we use
    - C|EH or GPEN
    - E|CSA or GCIH/GCIA
    - Forensics cert if desired