Moving from analyst to admin role?

TerminalBTerminalB Member Posts: 45 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hello,

Question for all of you - I currently work in a systems analyst type role for my company and was recently presented with the opportunity to move to a systems admin role. As an analyst, I've become somewhat of an expert at server OS level troubleshooting and things of that nature.

Moving to an admin role would seem to be the next logical step, as it would be much more hands-on, it would progress my career, etc. However, as with any interview, I definitely "up-sold" myself a bit and I'm a little worried about taking the job and then not being able to hit the ground running. Should I just take the job and study up on any knowledge gaps in the interim? It would definitely be big for my career (and my pocket), but I'm a little nervous.

-J

Comments

• NetworkNewbNetworkNewb Member Posts: 3,298 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Definitely take the job! Everyone gets nervous when getting a new position because no one knows exactly what to expect.

• hurricane1091hurricane1091 Member Posts: 919 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I'm moving from desktop support to full-on network engineer. I feel like I upsold myself but always stressed the fact that I was not doing this stuff at my current job. Still nervous and start Monday, so I know the feeling. I set up a little OSPF lab today on PT at work to just re-familiarize myself. I say just do that kind of stuff. As long as it's not a Sr. position I think you're okay.
  • EdificerEdificer Member Posts: 187 ■■■□□□□□□□