Options

How are you guys putting certs on a resume?

I was wondering if I should stick my A+ cert under the "Education" section of my resume? If I had 3 or 4 certs would I create a new "Certification" section? How are you guys handling this?
"Me fail English? That's unpossible."

Comments

• Options
    WebmasterWebmaster Admin Posts: 10,292 Admin
    I put it under Education, but if I would have more formal education, I'd probably add a separate section "Certifications".
  • Options
    Go BucksGo Bucks Member Posts: 152
    I have an associates degree in CS Tech, but I also have a bachelors in a non-related field. I guess my point is that I don't want to have a section that just says:

CERTIFICATIONS: A+

Would you list the A+ cert before or after the college "stuff"? Should I keep the heading of just Education? Or am I just paranoid about how the certification section would look with just one cert listed? I guess i could throw CompTIA in front of A+ to help fill it out.
  • Options
    MunckMunck Member Posts: 150
    I have listed my formal education under "education". Below I have a section called "certifications". In that section, I list my certs. like this:

Jan. 06 SANS GIAC Certified Firewall Analyst (GCFW)
    Okt. 05 Microsoft.......

I list them with the most recent at the top, one line each.
  • Options
    keenonkeenon Member Posts: 1,922 ■■■■□□□□□□
    under education listing after formal schooling/training
    Become the stainless steel sharp knife in a drawer full of rusty spoons
  • Options
    D-boyD-boy Member Posts: 595 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I list mine this way...

CERTIFICATIONS

CompTIA A+
    CompTIA Network+
    MCDST - Microsoft Certified Desktop Support Technician
    MCSA 2000 - Microsoft Certified System Administrator
    Pursuing Microsoft Certified Systems Engineer.

There was a time when I just had A+...
    I would just put whatever you have under "Certifications"
    That way HR or Recruiter can clearly see what cert's you have...