Options

Is programming for me?

backinthe80sbackinthe80s Member Posts: 18 ■□□□□□□□□□
I've been looking into WGU's software development program because I have an interest in programming.
Lately, I have been concerned whether or not I would be a good fit for that industry. I have done some html and a little python practice at codeacademy. I enjoy it and have always wanted to give coding a shot. What I have found out though is that I'm not very good at problem solving. I am also not the most creative person. I don't have a problem at all with learning the languages. For me, that is actually enjoyable. I'm worried that I would be given a project to do and end up having no clue on where to begin. I've always been good with algebra and have struggled with geometry. I've never taken calculus. To keep this short, I can troubleshoot well and have difficulty creating anything. I can fix it but struggle to make something new. Which sector of IT would be best for someone like me?

Comments

• Options
    olaHaloolaHalo Member Posts: 748 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Before signing up a a degree based on programming try testing it out somewhere.
    Watch some basic C# or Java videos online and program a few things for a few hours.
    If you like it and see yourself wanting to learn more then proceed. If not then you try other things until something clicks
  • Options
    iBrokeITiBrokeIT Member Posts: 1,318 ■■■■■■■■■□
    If you want to do programming and get a degree, don't go to WGU. If you are going to invest in a degree then go some place that offers a Computer Science degree, everything else is second rate.

Part of a good Computer Science program will start you off with small programs then work their way up in complexity while teaching you proper coding standards and architecture of systems. Join the local ACM or Linux club to get even more practice in.