Why is PCIe a SERIAL expansion bus (instead of a PARALLEL one)?

s3as3a Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
I ask because, to me, the concept of lanes seems like a way to transfer data in parallel, since based on my research, it seems to me that data is being transferred in each lane at the same time.

What is wrong with my thinking?

Any input would be greatly appreciated!

Comments

• wd40wd40 Member Posts: 1,017 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I am not an expert but I took a quick look in wikipedia.

PCI Express - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

If you look at PCI Express connector pinout (×1, ×4, ×8 and ×16 variants)

you will see that an x1 card has only 1 Lane, hence it is serial.
  • gespensterngespenstern Member Posts: 1,243 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Overall, parallel is a thing of the past. Reason: too many wires, too many connections, too much interference. Bus width grows all the time and in order to support 64-bit transfers on higher speeds it would require more engineering efforts to be made (PCI-X does that).

Serial, on the other hand, was overlooked in the past because there were not enough microprocessors to serialize and multiplex data on both sides of the lane and they were pricey. Nowadays they are cheap and potent. So it's easier and cheaper put on several wires and two multiplexers on both end to encode/decode data than put a freaking number of wires and care about interference on higher frequencies. Plus miniaturization plays a role.

It's a kinda global trend.
  • s3as3a Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Thanks for the responses.

Gespenstern, is what wd40 implied correct?

In other words, is it the case that a PCIe x1 expansion bus is a serial (so not parallel) expansion bus, but a xk PCIe expansion bus is a parallel (so not serial) expansion bus, where k is an integer 2^n, where n is a positive integer?