Options

Need help with a job dilemma

FYI - This post is going to be long, so if you reply to this thread, please read this post 1st thoroughly so you have an idea of the drama. :)

I work in the telecom industry, but handle desktop administration (desktop support). There is me and one other individual (let's call him Bob) that supports an office of close to 800 people. I'm full-time with the company and the other individual is a contractor. I came on board with the company in July 2012. Bob came on board November 2012.

Here's a little background about me. My mentality going into this position, even when I was contracting from July 2012 to August 2013, was to handle the business. I was very close in July 2013 to quit and look for something full-time so I can have benefits to help my family. Luckily a full-time position opened, so I lucked out. To this day, I love this job, I love the environment, and the employees here are happy that I'm here assisting them. The past co-workers didn't like my manager and decided to either quit or was terminated because they couldn't fulfill the role. I like my manager, but that's because I have a tolerance for him and put up w/ his b.s.

Unfortunately, the only problem with my job is Bob. He is still contracting. He came from a managed services provider job, so working by himself was what he was used to. He has wanted to be full-time from day 1, but my manager couldn't bring him on full-time due to budget, no requisitions open for full-time, and also his work issues.