Passed

nethersdenizennethersdenizen Member Posts: 51 ■■□□□□□□□□
I studied with a "Security+ for Dummies" book and this site, passed with about 800 points, I forget the exact number, doesn't really matter passing is passing.

Thanks for the help.

Comments

• ghaoufghaouf Inactive Imported Users Posts: 317
    wtg, how hard was the exam and any topics you think are realy important
  • WebmasterWebmaster Admin Posts: 10,292 Admin
    Great job, congrats! Please, tell us more about the book... was it good preparation for the exam? Did you know anything about security before you started studying for this exam?
  • nethersdenizennethersdenizen Member Posts: 51 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I didn't find it that hard, I put in about 50 hours of study for it. A lot of it I knew before I got my book. I'm a third year computer student at a local college. The only other certifications I have attempted was the CCNA, which I failed by a couple questions and put about 200 hours of prep time into. I didn't want to take A+ and Network+ because I feel they are too basic for my experiance level, I don't want to spend the money on them but will have to it seems because a lot of places seem to list it as being manditory for a job. Once I get those I can compare it a little bit better to other CompTIA tests.

If you are thinking about taking it make sure you know port numbers, wireless security, firewalls types, and such. Everything listed under the objectives was on it.

Also this test is at a good pace, not a mad dash like some tests(CCNA) where you have to beat the clock not the material. Finished the questions in about 30 minutes then had an extra 60 minutes to review everything, and found two mistakes.

It was $225 to take, kind of a lot. Hopefully it was worth it. For me it's not the study time it's the price since I have no job anymore.

If you want it, go and get it and the book I used is on Ebay up for auction :)
  • nethersdenizennethersdenizen Member Posts: 51 ■■□□□□□□□□