Options

12 month contract position how much should I charge?

myhittermyhittermyhittermyhitter Banned Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey everyone,

currently I work full time and is on a package of like 80k a year,

I am being interviewed for a 12 month contract at a enterprise where they are looking forward to migrating their onpremise resources to the cloud.

I am a experienced cloud consultant and was wondering how much for a 12 month contract like this I should charge?

The reason why i am asking is I know my worth but i do not know about contracting as I never contracted before.
What do yall think?

Comments

• Options
    Danielm7Danielm7 Member Posts: 2,310 ■■■■■■■■□□
    If you know your worth then just figure out what you lose by being a contractor vs. standard employee and go from there. I work as a contractor currently on a 12 month contract. I don't get anything in the way of benefits until they hire me on in a few months, but during the first year I know I would have gotten 3 weeks vacation, what my health insurance costs, what you'll pay in different taxes, what their 401K contributions would be, all that gives you a good place to start.

If it was a much shorter contract I'd be looking at increasing the your rate significantly, in my mind though a year+ starts to get closer to FTE+benefits rates.
  • Options
    DeathmageDeathmage Banned Posts: 2,496
    You need to take into account health/dental insurance plus taxes at the end of the year.

Also if you go contract track everything: gas, tolls, lunch, tires, study materials, certification exams. Anything that can be use for tax reimbursement.

With that being said if you want 80k a year tack on 15% more to cover the above fees and costs.

Hope this helps!
  • Options
    gespensterngespenstern Member Posts: 1,243 ■■■■■■■■□□
    The Joel on Software Discussion Group (CLOSED) - W2 vs W2 hourly vs 1099 vs C2C

Google Answers: 1099 Contractor vs. Full Time Employee (FTE) Salary - Take Home Comparison