Options

Network admin interview, what should I expect?

LevithanLevithan Member Posts: 72 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi guys!

So the title says it all! I have an upcoming interview for a position as Network Admin, and am wondering what I should expect in the interview, as well as perhaps the position itself.

I'm currently a WAN engineer assisting the management of several DMVPN networks, using exclusively Cisco router and switches.

For firewalls we have mainly Fortinet, with a few Juniper SSG firewalls inbetween. I do some stuff on the firewalls as well, but not as much as routing changes and troubleshooting. The only experience that I have with an ASA has been home when I was studying for the CCNA security, and that was mainly using the CLI/ASDM.

I've asked the company Im interviewing with for a list of the technologies we might be using, and they sent me the list below.

I applied to this job cause it sounded similar to my current position, but with exposure to more technologies and likely a bit more responsibility.

I guess im also wondering if I might be in over my head or not? Im just a bit nervous as I'd love to have an opportunity to get a raise and learn more at the same time....

Here's what they sent:

Cisco ASA: vpn, basic firewalling, NAT, Radius client, debug, basic xauth for on-call PC, GUI usage

Cisco Router: routing (RIP, OSPF, PBR), vpn, NAT, ISDN Dial-In, Radius client, ACL

Cisco Switch: rapid-pvst, VLAN, trunking, LACP, Radius client, stacking, basic security (ACL, BPDU filters, storm-controls), basic L2 debug

Windows: DNS server, Radius Server, syslog server, wireshark usage

Linux: tcp tracing setup & analysis, netstat analysis

Adva: basic configuration of optical switching

Crypto: basic configuration of optical encryption device

Juniper: ScreenOS vpn, DPD, NAT, PBR, policing, static routing, OSPF, RIP, Deep Inspection, tunnel monitoring, IKE heartbeating

Zabbix: Monitoring, selective statistics (SNMP MIB-based)

In-Depth: any tcp trace analysis -