Options

The next step from an ISP tier 1 role.

Dream_CapDream_Cap Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello,

To give you a background of me, I'm currently a tier 1 technical support agent for an ISP on the West Coast. I have the A+ and Network+ certs. I also have a BSBA in MIS from UNLV. I have been working for this ISP for almost 2 years now.

I really do not see myself doing this type of job in the long term. I support the telephone, internet, and video services for customers. A lot of the time, I just feel like a customer service agent. At this point with my position, I'm pretty good at what I do. I'm okay with dealing with people although I'm very introverted. However, I work in a fast-paced call center. At times, it can be a constant bombardment of customers with 50 to 100 people in the queue waiting to talk to me(and other agents of course.) It can be a constant stream of angry customers. We have to solve the problem on the phone with the customer or escalate to another group. Although I get paid a decent amount (around 40k a year which is probably almost too high for my type of position) for my first job outside of school, I feel unhappy. I don't wake up in the morning looking forward to what I do. I leave work feeling drained sometimes. I try hard to stay grateful for the benefits I get and what I make, but I still just don't feel satisfied.