Configuring Cisco router as a PSTN simulator

sacredboysacredboy Posts: 293Member
Hello guys. In this thread I would like to configure Cisco router as a PSTN simulator step-by-step and I would highly appreciate if you could help me with it. Below is the description of my lab equipment.

HQ:
Cisco 2811
VWIC2-2MFT-T1/E1 (1st E1 for voice circuit and 2nd E1 for data circuit (Frame Relay)).
PVDM2-16 x 2

Branch 1:
Cisco 2811
VWIC2-2MFT-T1/E1 (1st E1 for voice circuit and 2nd E1 for data circuit (Frame Relay))
PVDM2-16 x 2

Branch 2:
Cisco 2801
VWIC2-2MFT-T1/E1 (1st E1 for voice circuit and 2nd E1 for data circuit (Frame Relay))
PVDM2-16 x 2

PSTN:
Cisco 2811
VWIC2-2MFT-T1/E1 (1st E1 for voice circuit and 2nd E1 for data circuit (Frame Relay)) to HQ.
VWIC2-2MFT-T1/E1 (1st E1 for voice circuit and 2nd E1 for data circuit (Frame Relay)) to BR1.
VWIC2-2MFT-T1/E1 (1st E1 for voice circuit and 2nd E1 for data circuit (Frame Relay)) to BR2.
PVDM2-16 x 2

For now, before configuring dial plan, I would like only to be sure that E1 PRI configuration is correct on branch routers and PSTN simulator. Below are configurations of E1 PRI on all routers:
HQ-RTR#show run
network-clock-participate wic 0
!
isdn switch-type primary-net5
!
controller E1 0/0/0
pri-group timeslots 1-31
description **VOICE CIRCUIT TO PSTN**
!
interface Serial0/0/0:15
description **VOICE CHANNEL**
no ip address
encapsulation hdlc
isdn switch-type primary-net5
isdn incoming-voice voice
no cdp enable
BR1-RTR#show run
network-clock-participate wic 0
!
isdn switch-type primary-net5
!
controller E1 0/0/0
pri-group timeslots 1-31
description **VOICE CIRCUIT TO PSTN**
!
interface Serial0/0/0:15
description **VOICE CHANNEL**
no ip address
encapsulation hdlc
isdn switch-type primary-net5
isdn incoming-voice voice
no cdp enable
BR2-RTR#show run
network-clock-participate wic 0
!
isdn switch-type primary-net5
!
controller E1 0/1/0
pri-group timeslots 1-31
description **VOICE CIRCUIT TO PSTN**
!
interface Serial0/1/0:15
description **VOICE CHANNEL**
no ip address
encapsulation hdlc
isdn switch-type primary-net5
isdn incoming-voice voice
no cdp enable
PSTN-RTR#show run
!
network-clock-participate wic 0 
network-clock-participate wic 1 
network-clock-participate wic 2
!
isdn switch-type primary-net5
!
controller E1 0/0/0
pri-group timeslots 1-31
description **VOICE CIRCUIT TO HQ-RTR**
!
controller E1 0/1/0
description **VOICE CIRCUIT TO BR1-RTR**
!
controller E1 0/2/0
description **VOICE CIRCUIT TO BR2-RTR**
!
interface Serial0/0/0:15
description **VOICE CHANNEL TO HQ-RTR**
no ip address
encapsulation hdlc
isdn switch-type primary-net5
isdn incoming-voice voice
no cdp enable
!
interface Serial0/1/0:15
description **VOICE CHANNEL TO BR1-RTR**
no ip address
encapsulation hdlc
isdn switch-type primary-net5
isdn incoming-voice voice
no cdp enable
!
interface Serial0/2/0:15
description **VOICE CHANNEL TO BR2-RTR**
no ip address
encapsulation hdlc
isdn switch-type primary-net5
isdn incoming-voice voice
no cdp enable
Is there anything I need to add in configuration on all routers (especially on PSTN-RTR)?
Best, sacredboy!

Comments

  • sacredboysacredboy Posts: 293Member
    The first issue I faced with is that I can't configure 30 channels on each E1 PRI group on PSTN-RTR. I get the error below:
    % Not enough DSP resources available to configure pri-group on controller E1 0/1/0
    % The remaining dsp resources are enough for 2 time slots.
    % For current codec complexity, 2 extra dsp(s) are required to create this voice port.
    
    Will it help if I change PVDM16 x 2 for PVDM64 x2 or I have to reduce the number of channels on each E1 PRI group on each router?
    Best, sacredboy!
  • cisco_nerdcisco_nerd Posts: 198Member
    Cheapest option = Reduce the number of channels you are provisioning - you don't need 30 channels for a lab. 10 is plenty!
  • sacredboysacredboy Posts: 293Member
    Yes I reconfigured my e1 controllers with:
    [FONT=tahoma]pri-group timeslots 1-3[/FONT]
    

    As to PSTN simulation, now I have the following configuration on branch routers and PSTN router:
    [FONT=tahoma][COLOR=#333333]network-clock-participate wic 0 
    network-clock-participate wic 1 
    network-clock-participate wic 2[/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333]isdn switch-type primary-net5
    [/COLOR][COLOR=#333333]!
    [/COLOR][COLOR=#333333]controller E1 0/0/0
    clock source internal
    pri-group timeslots 1-3,16
    description **VOICE CIRCUIT TO HQ-RTR**
    !
    controller E1 0/1/0
    clock source internal
    pri-group timeslots 1-3,16
    description **VOICE CIRCUIT TO BR1-RTR**
    !
    controller E1 0/2/0
    pri-group timeslots 1-3,16
    description **VOICE CIRCUIT TO BR2-RTR**
    !
    interface Serial0/0/0:15
    no ip address
    encapsulation hdlc
    isdn switch-type primary-net5
    isdn protocol-emulate network
    isdn incoming-voice voice
    no cdp enable
    !
    interface Serial0/1/0:15
    no ip address
    encapsulation hdlc
    isdn switch-type primary-net5
    isdn protocol-emulate network
    isdn incoming-voice voice
    no cdp enable
    !
    interface Serial0/2/0:15
    no ip address
    encapsulation hdlc
    isdn switch-type primary-net5
    isdn protocol-emulate network
    isdn incoming-voice voice
    no cdp enable
    !
    voice-port 0/0/0:15
    description **VOICE PORT TO HQ-RTR**
    !
    voice-port 0/1/0:15
    description **VOICE PORT TO BR1-RTR**
    !
    voice-port 0/2/0:15
    description **VOICE PORT TO BR2-RTR**[/COLOR][/FONT]
    

    Do I need to configure something on voice-ports?
    Do I need the configuration below on each serial interface?
    [FONT=tahoma][COLOR=#333333]isdn map address transparent[/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333]isdn supp-service name calling[/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333]isdn negotiate-bchan resend-setup[/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333]isdn outgoing ie network-facility[/COLOR]
    [/FONT][COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial][FONT=tahoma]isdn outgoing ie redirecting number[/FONT]
    [/FONT][/COLOR]
    
    Best, sacredboy!
  • sacredboysacredboy Posts: 293Member
    Hi guys,

    Once again I would like you to check the config of my router which I configured as a PSTN simulator. Below is my config of a router (some parts are omitted for brevity):
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]PSTN-FR#show running-config [/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]![/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]hostname PSTN-FR[/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]![/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]card type e1 0 0[/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]card type e1 0 1[/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]card type e1 0 2[/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]![/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]network-clock-participate wic 0 [/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]network-clock-participate wic 1 [/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]network-clock-participate wic 2 [/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]![/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]ip source-route[/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]![/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]frame-relay switching[/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]![/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]isdn switch-type primary-net5[/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]![/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]voice-card 0[/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]![/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]controller E1 0/0/0[/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]pri-group timeslots 1-10,16[/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]description **VOICE CIRCUIT TO SYDNEY**[/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]![/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]controller E1 0/0/1[/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]channel-group 0 timeslots 1-31[/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]description **DATA CIRCUIT TO HQ-RTR**[/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]![/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]controller E1 0/1/0[/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]pri-group timeslots 1-10,16[/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]description **VOICE CIRCUIT TO NEW YORK**[/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]![/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]controller E1 0/1/1[/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]channel-group 0 timeslots 1-31[/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]description **DATA CIRCUIT TO BR1-RTR**[/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]![/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]controller E1 0/2/0[/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]pri-group timeslots 1-10,16[/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]description **VOICE CIRCUIT TO ADELAIDE**[/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]![/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]controller E1 0/2/1[/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]channel-group 0 timeslots 1-31[/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]description **DATA CIRCUIT TO BR2-RTR**[/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]![/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]interface Serial0/0/0:15[/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]no ip address[/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]encapsulation hdlc[/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]isdn switch-type primary-net5[/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]isdn protocol-emulate network[/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]isdn incoming-voice voice[/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]no cdp enable[/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]![/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]interface Serial0/0/1:0[/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]description **FRAME RELAY CIRCUIT TO HQ-RTR**[/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]no ip address[/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]encapsulation frame-relay[/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]frame-relay lmi-type ansi[/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]frame-relay intf-type dce[/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]frame-relay route 102 interface Serial0/1/1:0 201[/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]frame-relay route 103 interface Serial0/2/1:0 301[/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]![/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]interface Serial0/1/0:15[/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]no ip address[/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]encapsulation hdlc[/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]isdn switch-type primary-net5[/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]isdn protocol-emulate network[/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]isdn incoming-voice voice[/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]no cdp enable[/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]![/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]interface Serial0/1/1:0[/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]description **FRAME RELAY CIRCUIT TO BR1-RTR**[/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]no ip address[/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]encapsulation frame-relay[/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]frame-relay lmi-type ansi[/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]frame-relay intf-type dce[/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]frame-relay route 201 interface Serial0/0/1:0 102[/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]![/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]interface Serial0/2/0:15[/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]no ip address[/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]encapsulation hdlc[/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]isdn switch-type primary-net5[/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]isdn protocol-emulate network[/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]isdn incoming-voice voice[/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]no cdp enable[/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]![/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]interface Serial0/2/1:0[/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]description **FRAME RELAY CIRCUIT TO BR2-RTR**[/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]no ip address[/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]encapsulation frame-relay[/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]frame-relay lmi-type ansi[/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]frame-relay intf-type dce[/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Arial]frame-relay route 301 interface Serial0/0/1:0 103[/FONT][/COLOR]
    

    Could you please have a look. Is this configuration complete or something is missed and could/should be added?

    Thank you.
    Best, sacredboy!
  • sacredboysacredboy Posts: 293Member
    Hi guys,

    Just got a question regarding international access code and trunk access code.

    If we have a deal with real PSTN then such things like international access code and trunk access code are predefined by institutions that governs public telephony.

    But how international access code and trunk access code are defined on PSTN simulator? If I need to use 0 for access outside of the company or 0011 for dialing international number, how it should be configured on PSTN simulator?

    Thank you.
    Best, sacredboy!
  • sam88sam88 Posts: 58Member ■■□□□□□□□□
Sign In or Register to comment.