Options

passed security+ 5/27/2015

teaboneteabone Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
hi

just passed with an 811 today.

background:
-not much security background
-worked as sys admin for a few years (mostly os installs, basic configuration, entry level vmware experience)
-no network exp

what i studied:
-watched all prof messer... mostly just went over my head b/c i didnt know a lot of it at a detailed level.
-used comptia certmaster (they had a buy a voucher, a retake, and access to certmaster for $390... figured why not)
-studied quizlet like crazy
-studied gcga for 48 hours before test
-never read any books... bought it but didnt use it.

while taking the test, felt like i was in hell, the questions didnt match up to quizlet at all... the labs were different from gcga.. i thought i was screwed... so i just went through it FAST with over 30 minutes left thinking i had failed.. and since i paid for a retest, oh well.. at least i know what to study for... but low and behold, i passed.

looking back, i would study gcga more and drill more of the "learn mode".

i hope this info help someone... on to the next one.

gl.

Comments

• Options
    Dakinggamer87Dakinggamer87 Member Posts: 4,016 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Congrats!! What's next? ;)
    *Associate's of Applied Sciences degree in Information Technology-Network Systems Administration
    *Bachelor's of Science: Information Technology - Security, Master's of Science: Information Technology - Management
    Matthew 6:33 - "Seek the Kingdom of God above all else, and live righteously, and he will give you everything you need."

Certs/Business Licenses In Progress: AWS Solutions Architect, Series 6, Series 63
  • Options
    teaboneteabone Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
    thank you.

i leaning more towards security/privacy/audit.. so probably one of the following... cisa, cissp, or cism.

maybe in the future ill go back to vmware.
  • Options
    DAVIS NGUYENDAVIS NGUYEN Member Posts: 1,472 ■■■□□□□□□□
  • Options