Security for developer & architect background

RollTideRollTide Member Posts: 23 ■□□□□□□□□□
First a little about me... I' have 18+ years in IT. I started out in networking and got my MCSE, CCNA & Citrix CCA certs back in the NT/W2K days. Fast forwarding a few years, I decided to shift careers and get into development which was more interesting to me. I've been a web & application developer for most of my career and worked with just about every stack and language from C#, Java, JavaScript, Python, etc. For the past 5+ years, I've been mostly an architect which took me away from programming all the time but I could if I had to get my hands dirty. And of course, the last few years have been heavily based on cloud utilization with AWS & Azure from an enterprise application (both web, mobile and hybrid) point of view. For education, I have a bachelors & 2 masters. The masters are in IT management & computer science.

Although the word "security" was never in any title I possessed, it was always an integral part in any work that I did.... be it networking or development for web/mobile. Many of the companies I've worked for have 3rd party security scans done on newly developed apps and I was usually the one who had dialogue with those companies to help mitigate any vulnerabilities.