Needing some encouragement

999999 Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi All

Long time reader first time poster....

I know there are plenty of posts similar to this but I felt the need to write one looking for encouragement. I've been preparing for CISSP for a few months now.

Read through most of the books recommended on here (AIO, Eric Conrad, CISSP Official 4th Edition). I've created dozens of mind maps and diagrams to help commit to memory things like the OSI model and types of encryption etc...

I've completed around 2,000 questions from various books and websites (I average around 65% on a first go at any test, which I know isn't really good enough).

I've 2 1/2 weeks to go and starting to panic that I can't get anymore into my head or improve my test scores.

I'm planning to go over the models, BLP etc... ISO & NIST.... and the order of procedures for Risk/BIA/BCP etc...

I just for the first time ever have no idea whether I am ready or not for an exam.

Comments

• kalkan999kalkan999 Member Posts: 269 ■■■■□□□□□□
    If you're testing at 65%, you should reschedule the exam for a later date. Wait till you hit the 80% mark on those exam questions. Take heart though: No one is ready enough for this exam. It's a crucible for most. As I am sure you've read from others who have passed or failed, many will share that the CISSP exam is the hardest thing they've ever had to endure, myself included in that bunch.
  • renacidorenacido Member Posts: 387 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I agree w/ kalkan999 - cancel and reschedule when you are scoring in the 80's consistently. You want to feel more confident going in, not that you'll ever feel "the check's in the mail" confident.

You're probably already doing this, but I just thought I'd mention: when you come across a question and don't have the answer, try to eliminate the choices you know are wrong answers to improve your chance of guessing the correct answer.