Ccna lab

Mr.NetworkMr.Network Member Posts: 117
Hi,

I got two 48 port 3550 switches at home for my CCNA lab that are driving me crazy, the fans are so loud :)
do you recommend some smaller switc that are not that darn noicy? :)
CCNA R&S, MCSA.

Comments

• Phileeeeeeep651Phileeeeeeep651 Member Posts: 179 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I have a 2950 and a 2960 24 port. I don't think they're too bad, not sure how loud a 3550 is though.
    Working on: CCNP Switch
  • Danielh22185Danielh22185 Member Posts: 1,195 ■■■■□□□□□□
    This is why network equipment is put into rooms where nobody can generally hear them, that and security reasons :) You can try maybe putting them into a ventilated closet or something of that nature but you aren't going to really have a "more quiet" option. The fans are tiny and move a lot of air at high speeds, not much you can do about it. Your only REAL quiet option is emulations via GNS3 or VIRL.

Personally I kinda like the drone noise when I am studying to tune out other distracting noises in my house.
    Currently Studying: IE Stuff...kinda...for now...
    My ultimate career goal: To climb to the top of the computer network industry food chain.
    "Winning means you're willing to go longer, work harder, and give more than anyone else." - Vince Lombardi
  • MooseboostMooseboost Member Posts: 778 ■■■■□□□□□□
    My lab can get pretty loud but it doesn't bother me to bad. My lab is in my tech room and I usually have my headphones on in there anyways. I don't notice too much of a noise difference between the 3560, 3550, and 2950 switches but maybe I have tuned it out. I am also the kind of guy who can't sleep well without some form of background noise though.
  • MTciscoguyMTciscoguy Member Posts: 552