Honest advice from someone who failed multiple times & doesn't have years of experien

oneMoreoneMore Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Yes I failed multiple times. Call me stupid, call me what you will. But I have this thing called life, which includes wife, two kids, and a full time job. I am rather new to the security side but employment was assistant that I obtain my CISSP. The first time I failed was with a 661 (700 to pass). The next time I failed was with a 668. I passed on the third attempt.

This is what I learned:

* I tried taking the short cut, just studying the question and not really understanding the concepts. It takes time, lots of time. It gets aggravating because you will understand the first domain, and then by the time you are to the 8th domain, your saying, what was the first domain again.

* Each time I took the test, I never once received the same question. That question pool is so large, its ridiculous. Just like the recent reorganization didn't really change the test. I don't ever think they would change the test significantly, they would then loose that pool.

* Bootcamps are a waste of your time, unless you are ready to take the test and want a fast review. No bootcamp can prepare you for the test! They don't go deep enough into detail, just a fast pace 30,000 foot view... thats all.

* The new Shoni Harris test engine is a lot better that the previous version, but I felt it didn't go deep enough. The ********* test engine is ok, but it felt unprofessional, like a bunch of people pieced things together and then charged you for it. The best test engine out there is "Transcender," they give you detailed info, telling why questions are wrong and why they are right.

* THERE ARE NO ****, SO DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME! Of the three times I took it, there may have been some similarities to test engine questions, but never seen anything exactly the same.