Having trouble describing my skills. Help?

XiaoTechXiaoTech Member Posts: 113 ■■■□□□□□□□
Last year, I got accepted into a networking program that was 100% paid for, and I've been working an internship for the past seven months. It was supposed to be a couple weeks, but things happened and we got it extended. I get to learn a lot. But I'm not to sure how to word it on my resume.

Basically,I work at a NOC as an intern. And I work on two different projects. On one of them,I work with field engineers who go on site, replace servers and network equipment, copy/paste config files on switches and routers. Sometimes we get contractors who don't know what they're doing, and I have to advise them on the cabling for the topology and even take over their screen to load the config files myself if they're not familiar with IOS (they should, but not all of them are). Then I verify the work was done, then I pass it along one level higher to re-confirm it's done. I work with Cisco for both networks and servers, and we use VMWare for migration. The VMWare migration is just me running scripts that were pre-written, and checking some menus in VMWare if it failed and correcting it if necessary.

Other project deals with Aruba and APs. Same deal. Field engineers go out, cable, and call me if they have issues. Sometimes it deals with AP locations if they won't go in a place their floor plan says. When they're done I verify through Arubu AirWave Management that it was done. Then I send it one level up and they verify. Then we let the techs go.

It's like, I feel I have a lot of hands on experience, but I'm not making config files or anything. Could someone help me summarize this with bullet points? I have my CCENT now, and going for my CCNA-R&S in two weeks. Hoping to start job hunting soon. I got a permanent offer to work in the NOC, but I wouldn't learn as much as the projects I'm working on now, so I turned it down.

Comments

• LeBrokeLeBroke Member Posts: 490 ■■■■□□□□□□