Options

CompTIA Security+ Training necessary?

harshoneharshone Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
So I am new to IT Security. I received a bachelors degree in IT recently, and I want to further advance my career before I can get a decent job. I decided to get Security+ certification or CEH first.

Since I have very basic IT Security knowledge so far, I'm thinking Security+ training would be better to start with to cover the absolute basics then move to CEH. Feel free to let me know if you feel there is a better approach or different exam path.

Now my question is.. Would online training be sufficient for Security+ or would an actual class be better? Of course, I'm by no means rich so actual class training would be expensive, but the option is there. Friend of mine that took same IT major as me at same university said it's an easy certification (I'm pretty good at taking tests too).

If I did choose online training, where would you recommend I get it that is both affordable and decent?

Thanks!

edit: Just FYI, I have no certifications so far. All I have is a Bachelors in IT (there is no focus on a single topic).

Comments

• Options
    jvrlopezjvrlopez Member Posts: 913 ■■■■□□□□□□
    If you have a degree in IT you should be familiar with what Sec+ covers. To be honest, studying out of a book is more than enough to pass the test so long as you focus and cover the material. I'd recommend the Sybex Security+ study guide. I wouldn't recommend anyone pay for a course strictly for Security+.

Not sure if you are aware or not, but you need verified experience to attempt the CEH exam.
    And so you touch this limit, something happens and you suddenly can go a little bit further. With your mind power, your determination, your instinct, and the experience as well, you can fly very high. ~Ayrton Senna
  • Options
    harshoneharshone Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
    jvrlopez wrote: »