Options

Assembly - Suggestions

the_Grinchthe_Grinch Member Posts: 4,165 ■■■■■■■■■■
In August I am taking my first course at DSU and it's Assembly. I know a decent amount of Python and I have taken Visual Basic, Java, and C++ courses. I have no experience with assembly and honestly I'm hearing the professor is not amazing. Any suggestions on some pre-reading and/or other resources I could look into to get a bit of a jump on the course?
WIP:
PHP
Kotlin
Intro to Discrete Math
Programming Languages
Work stuff

Comments

• Options
    philz1982philz1982 Member Posts: 978
  • Options
    Sweet! Thanks guys!
    WIP:
    PHP
    Kotlin
    Intro to Discrete Math
    Programming Languages
    Work stuff
  • Options
    Assembly isn't difficult its just a type of different thinking.

If you can wrap your mind around the concepts of Stack, Heap, and pointer you will be ahead of most.

Essentially you have to realize each piece of high level C#/JAVA code has smaller pieces that make up the assembly. This code gets put onto the memory stack/heap and a pointer/ ref pointer is created. What your dealing with is a few primitives that tell your processor how to process individual blocks in the memory.

What makes X86 hard is the limitations. Higher level code will go and correct a lot of errors, assembly is not as forgiving.

PM me if you have any specific questions.

-Phil
  • Options
    JoJoCal19JoJoCal19 Mod Posts: 2,835 Mod
    Security Tube's Assembly Language Megaprimer for Linux. And it's free. They also have a more advanced paid course too.

http://www.securitytube.net/groups?operation=view&groupId=5
    Have: CISSP, CISM, CISA, CRISC, eJPT, GCIA, GSEC, CCSP, CCSK, AWS CSAA, AWS CCP, OCI Foundations Associate, ITIL-F, MS Cyber Security - USF, BSBA - UF, MSISA - WGU
    Currently Working On: Python, OSCP Prep
    Next Up:​ OSCP
    Studying:​ Code Academy (Python), Bash Scripting, Virtual Hacking Lab Coursework
  • Options
    @philz will do! Thanks as always!