Options

Feeling unfufilled - Advice please?

wtrwlkrwtrwlkr Member Posts: 138 ■■■□□□□□□□
So I'm a government contractor in Afghanistan. The money is great and I'm not being taxed. The issue that I'm having is that I'm feeling extremely unfulfilled in my current position. I'm basically babysitting equipment that I'm not really allowed to work on. My 8 hour day feels like 12 with all the sitting around I'm doing. There's no new projects or anything for me to get my hands on, so it just feels like I'm wasting my time out here. I am working on certs, but there's only so much time I can spend buried in a book before I start to go stir crazy. I'm not getting any new experience to put on my resume. I'm halfway through a year contract and I'm thinking about looking for stuff in the states. Basically my question is: should I stick it out for another 6 months, collect a paycheck and knock out some certs, or go to a place where I'll actually get my hands dirty and learn new technologies? Thanks for the advice, everyone!

Comments

• Options
    doobudoobu Member Posts: 87 ■■■□□□□□□□
    You've got two things to do, like you said: collect a check and learn things, or go find some place to learn.

Both are valuable, but it's much easier to find work when you're working. That way you can afford to look and not take some last ditch effort job, which would lead you right back into your current predicament.

I'd say, learn up on some things you've not had time to. Use the money (tax free!) to set up some investments and training. Buy your own equipment if you can. You're in a place a lot of people would want to be in: paid to in essence slack off.

Now's your chance to get that CCNA, or Juniper, or whatever cert you've wanted. It's mind numbing, but at least you'll be learning with a paycheck.
  • Options
    markulousmarkulous Member Posts: 2,394 ■■■■■■■■□□