Options

What type of work should I look for?

LeisureSuitLarryLeisureSuitLarry Member Posts: 78 ■■□□□□□□□□
I know the easy answer: whatever you're interested in. But the question seems more complex, given my situation.

My qualifications (or lack thereof):
*I worked in IT many years ago and have some experience at help desk and setting up small office networks.
*I was very good with Linux in the mid/late 90's, but those skills have atrophied to some degree.
*I have bachelors and masters degrees, but they're not IT/computer science related.
*My recent jobs have primarily been teaching at universities.
*Security+ certification, as of recently
*Working on CCENT (hoping to take the test in July).

It would help to know what kind of work to look for that would give me the best chance of getting a foot in the door. I'd prefer to avoid help desk again, but I'd do it if it's the best route to go. My interests are network security and architecture, but of course it's not realistic to expect to get a job that involves either at this point. I also do enjoy teaching, and I think I'd enjoy the role of a corporate trainer, but again it doesn't seem like something open for entry level.

If anyone has specific suggestions of job titles I might look for, key words to look for in job titles/descriptions, or any other helpful information, please feel free to reply. I'm just not sure what I would have the best chance at, given my background and current resume.

Comments

• Options
    markulousmarkulous Member Posts: 2,394 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I'd aim for a NOC environment. You might have to settle for a help desk position, but I'd really focus on NOC environments. Given your S+ and studying for a CCENT, you have a decent chance of getting into one of those places, especially with some previous IT experience (even if it was years ago).
  • Options
    E Double UE Double U Member Posts: 2,232 ■■■■■■■■■■
    markulous wrote: »
    I'd aim for a NOC environment.