Need help building home lab for CCNA cert

jaleesa.7jaleesa.7 Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
I am sort of new icon_redface.gif. I had an account here but can't remember if I ever posted anything. Hi everyone. I have been a Help Desk Analyst for 3 weeks. I want to pursue becoming a Network Administrator and eventually become an Information Security Analyst. I have no certs and a bachelor's in computer science. I have been looking into building a home lab for the CCNA cert as I am broke and going the self-study route. Is this a good home lab for the CCNA exam?

3 of these switches WS C2950 24 Cisco Catalyst 2950 24 Port Ethernet Switch iOS 12 1 22 EA11 0746320454498 | eBay

and 3 of these routers Cisco 2600XM Multiservice Router Model 2610XM Lifetime Warranty 746320661247 | eBay

I do not know what cards, cords, software, drivers, etc I should have. Do I need this stuff and if so, how many of each:
  • WIC-2A/S Two PortSmart Serial Modules
  • Smart Serial to Smart Serial Back to Back Cables
  • Power Cables
  • Console cable kit
  • Ethernet Crossover Cables
  • Etherent Patch Cables
I looked at a few sites for guidance icon_study.gif including certificationkits.com. They have CCNA home lab kits but they are pricey. I was hoping to buy a functional home lab piece by piece to save some bucks but I want to have what I need to do well on the CCNA exam too.

I am definitely willing to learn. I am looking to those more experienced/knowledgeable to point me in the right direction. I will pay it forward to others as I continue to learn. Any and all advice and help greatly appreciated icon_surprised.gif

Comments

• MooseboostMooseboost Member Posts: 778 ■■■■□□□□□□