Options

Career advice for entry level IT career switcher with BS in IT and A+/N+/S+?

marko_polomarko_polo Member Posts: 8 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi guys. New to the IT field (changing careers after 12 years in marketing/communications) and was wondering what I should study next to better place myself for entry level jobs with career advancement potential. Still in my old job but trying to make the final push into IT. I have a Bachelors in IT and A+/N+/S+ certs. I’m targeting Tier I/II Desktop Support with the idea of moving into a Sysadmin or Netadmin position (not sure which) once I gain more experience. Would like to avoid Help Desk if possible. A few options I’m considering: Linux+, CCNA, and MCSA Windows 8.1. Any advice on where I should focus my efforts? Which will net me the best earning potential either right off the bat or once I advance out of the entry level ranks? Thanks!

Comments

• Options
    srabieesrabiee Member Posts: 1,231 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Every option is lucrative and in demand. Which IT path interests you the most?
    WGU Progress: Master of Science - Information Technology Management (Start Date: February 1, 2015)
    Completed: LYT2, TFT2, JIT2, MCT2, LZT2, SJT2 (17 CU's)
    Required: FXT2, MAT2, MBT2, C391, C392 (13 CU's)

Bachelor of Science - Information Technology Network Design & Management (WGU - Completed August 2014)
  • Options
    stryder144stryder144 Member Posts: 1,684 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Welcome to the forum. You should find this to be quite the community. It looks like you've set yourself up with a great foundation of degree and CompTIA certs. Below is my advice, based on your current certs/education and near-term goals: