I've been offered a job outside InfoSec

newjacknewjack Member Posts: 106 ■■■□□□□□□□
So I've been working for 2 years out of college. I started in digital forensics and now work in Security Support for a major software company. I've been trying to break through into the IR and or the Security Analyst scene and it's been quite hard to say the least. Today I had an extremely successful interview for a Network Admin position, and the pay is a lot better.

Would this hurt my career later if I wanted to move forward to become a security analyst or go back to infosec? I'd be working with VPN's and Firewalls, but I wouldn't be delegated the nice title, IR or Security Analyst. It's making me skepticle on taking the position. I still am waiting on hearing back on a major company that I am currently interviewing for for an IR position (still need to go in for another interview if I passed the technical phone interview)

Comments

• stryder144stryder144 Member Posts: 1,684 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Since a lot of security jobs that I have seen ask for either extensive networking or sys admin-type experience, I would say you are not hurting yourself. If you are questioned later on, just say you were trying to broaden your understanding of the technologies that you would be expected to secure.
    The easiest thing to be in the world is you. The most difficult thing to be is what other people want you to be. Don't let them put you in that position. ~ Leo Buscaglia

Connect With Me || My Blog Site || Follow Me
  • yzTyzT Member Posts: 365 ■■■□□□□□□□
    You are discarding a better job just because it doesn't have the title you want? Come on..
  • UnixGuyUnixGuy Mod Posts: 4,564 Mod
    Take it, firewalls and VPNs are good skills to have. Networking skills are essential. You're not losing, you're gaining more experience and more money. The job after that aim for a pure security role with more money. Plan to knock some serious certs to prepare for it.