Options

Cert Guidance - Info Security

wtrwlkrwtrwlkr Member Posts: 138 ■■■□□□□□□□
hello everyone,

I'm a network admin looking to branch out into the information security sector. I have Sec+ cert courtesy of the military, which is about to expire. Rather than retake the Sec+ exam, i'm looking at "higher level" certifications which will renew my Sec+ and put me ahead once I decide to look for a information security gig.

I considered the CISSP, CEH and SSCP, and perhaps one of the GIAC certs. I decided against the CISSP due to the fact that I don't meet the experience requirements, and the CEH due to the outrageous cost and the opinions of many on the CEH forum that the return on investment isn't very high. I would like a GIAC cert, perhaps the GCIH, but i'd like to get in a job where the company will pay for the $1000+ exam fee. So this leaves me with the SSCP, which is only $250, and will set me up for CISSP once I've met the experience requirements.

Does this seem like sound reasoning? I'm interested in the opinions of people already in the security field. I didn't find Sec+ challenging at all, and i'm looking for a cert that will set me apart from those who have Sec+ thanks to 8570. Thanks for your opinions everyone.

Comments

• Options
    SaSkillerSaSkiller Member Posts: 337 ■■■□□□□□□□
    My honest opinion? Save your money and get a GIAC cert, the ROI is much higher than the SSCP. Alternatively there are a number of other vendors providing offensive IT sec certs. They won't have the bang of a known cert, but when you discuss their ROI with an employer, it will work in your favor.

As for the CEH, I disagree with many, the ROI on my CEH has been very high. When I walked into a shop where the highest cert for my position was a Sec+, guess who is the rockstar? People can say whatever they like about the exam, and the company, but if you study the material, if you practice, you'll have a good base of knowledge from which to grow.