In need of serious advice

mintumintu Registered Users Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
I have been working as a IT Administrator for a few months now.
It's me and the IT Manager. We have outsourced almost everything, so I only deal with physical issues. Docking/screen/laptop hardware stuff.

Now the thing is, I am not the most service minded person. And I feel very uncomfortable talking to strangers.
Our office is huge and we have people coming in and leaving the company all the time.

So how to deal with this issue? Should I quit and find myself a new job or stay and work myself up in the company.
Probably will take at least three years.

Thanks for taking the time to read this.

Comments

• Fulcrum45Fulcrum45 Member Posts: 621 ■■■■■□□□□□
    A good bedside manner goes a long way in this industry. If I were you I would stay on long enough to polish up on my soft skills if nothing else. Meeting an end user for the first time can still unnerve even me a bit but I crack a joke or make some off the cuff remark about family portraits and suddenly I'm their best friend.
  • kiki162kiki162 Member Posts: 635 ■■■■■□□□□□
    Unfortunately, it comes with the job and with most industries. You'll have to understand to that when dealing with people in general, you won't win everyone over. Meaning there are some people that will get you and get your way of doing things, and there's others that simply won't care, and will complain about you or consider you the "a-hole". At the end of the day you can't win everyone over, but sometimes you'll have to "fake it" because they are the people that you support.

It sucks, but I think in your situation, you'll need to work your way up and get to know people. Try to have small talk with them, like about the weather, or how was your holiday, etc.. etc. You'll be fine.
  • MideMide Member Posts: 61 ■■□□□□□□□□