Ccent > ccna ?

bambi401bambi401 Member Posts: 10 ■□□□□□□□□□
I'm new to the Network side of things, I mainly dealt with Helpdesk positions and a little bit of desktop support.

My question is would it be easier to just jump into the CCNA and try taking the 200-120 CCNA exam or would it be a lot easier to understand,grasp, and build a stronger foundation taking the CCENT 100-101 ICND1 ?

Comments

• ChitownjediChitownjedi Member Posts: 578 ■■■■■□□□□□
    You are answering your own question. Choose the method that is most conducive to your study habits, time frame, and ability to learn and retain material.

It comes down to you knowing what option sounds best for you and doing that method... you end up with an extra cert going 2 steps, but other than that...it boils down to your confidence level and ability to grasp the material. If you want to move in chunks.
  • bambi401bambi401 Member Posts: 10 ■□□□□□□□□□
    I figured as much, just though it would save a little $ just taking the CCNA , but not really understanding the material would just be a backtrack in my mind. Do you know of any good up-to-date books for the CCENT ?
  • MitechniqMitechniq Member Posts: 286 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Book:
    CCNA (100-101 and 200-101) from Todd Lammle
    CCENT (100-101) from Wendell Odom
    CCNA (200-101) from Wendell Odom

Videos:
    CBT Nuggets with Keith Barker
    Udemy with Chris Bryant

Virtual Lab:
    GNS3 (Routers)
    Packet Tracer (Switches) if you are a Cisco Academy student
    Thank you!
    Mitechniq wrote: »
    Book:
    CCNA (100-101 and 200-101) from Todd Lammle
    CCENT (100-101) from Wendell Odom
    CCNA (200-101) from Wendell Odom

Videos:
    CBT Nuggets with Keith Barker
    Udemy with Chris Bryant

Virtual Lab:
    GNS3 (Routers)
    Packet Tracer (Switches) if you are a Cisco Academy student
  • networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod