Options

Track Down Rogue Network Devices

JockVSJockJockVSJock Member Posts: 1,118
This is my first time doing this, and I'm going off memory as I'm no longer at work and writing this from home.

Our network scanner has detected 4 devices that on the network broadcasting some sort or rlogon vulnerability. My boss wanted me to track them down quickly before anyone else's scanner found them. This is what I did from Linux (RHEL v5.8 x86_64)

-ping and traceroute to confirm they are on and confirm the subnet
-nmap -O and and -sT and -O detected RHEL v4.11 x86_64
-MAC address into Wireshark OUI tool and can't remember the name of the company...some sort of embedded serial console or router/switch...
-nmap -sT found rlogin, telnet and a few other ports are wide open
-I attemped a session from CLI to try and grab a banner and/or MOTD...nothing
-We contacted out NOC, and they came back with vague port info such as Smart Box and AWCS-1 and that one device was in 1/2 duplex mode and the Switch Port couldn't auto negotiate it. Advised us to look into a few of the telecom closets...

I did find this from here Using Nmap to Find Rogue Devices | Professor Messer IT Certification Training Courses
[COLOR=#333333][FONT=Courier New]nmap 192.168.0.* -p 80,8080,8088 -sV -vv[/FONT][/COLOR]

And of course I would replace the ip address and port numbers above with the open ports running on these devices.

Is there anything else I can do to find the smoking gun? I'm using Linux, with CLI, I can pretty much do anything...however I don't want to run the risk of getting fired.
***Freedom of Speech, Just Watch What You Say*** Example, Beware of CompTIA Certs (Deleted From Google Cached)

"Its easier to deceive the masses then to convince the masses that they have been deceived."
-unknown

Comments

• Options
    colemiccolemic Member Posts: 1,569 ■■■■■■■□□□