Options

New Job - Continuing My New Direction

MishraMishra Member Posts: 2,468 ■■■■□□□□□□
I feel the members of this board are definitely targeting mostly technical roles and improvements. I've been working the technical field for 13 years now. But my story is my approach and transition out of the technical roles and into a business role.

The past 3 years I've been at a company which I've been learning a lot of business level knowledge. I've known the technical world would always be a stepping stone or a fallback position for me as I'm very skilled. But my 'passion' or desire is to build business and own things. IT has been a great means to satisfy the 'build' part but has always lacked on the business or ownership side.

I've accepted a new job as a cloud practice director for a larger 700 million dollar company. This company wants to be defined as a cloud company and is starting at the ground floor. They have given me an open appointment book and want me to build a business unit as I see fit.

This opportunity is similar to what I have begun at my current company. There are a few differences, one of the biggest being that I will now be completely disconnected from traditional IT. No longer will I ever work on a upgrade or system. Anything that I do will sit at an architectural and guidance level. This is a big change for me.

For anyone that is interested, I can spell out the story a little more detailed if you are wanting to do the same if this isn't enough detail. Something I learned on early in my career is that I will never become great without help, so I will always reciprocate.

Also, any networking you want to do with me is always welcome as I want to continue to build my network of relationships. Cloud has been my focus for 1-2 years now and will definitely be my full focus going forward.
My blog http://www.calegp.com

You may learn something!

Comments

• Options
    cyberguyprcyberguypr Mod Posts: 6,928 Mod
    Congrats on the new role!
  • Options