Options

Need guidance for the next step

nocrassnocrass Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey guys, I've been following this community board for some time now and I feel like you could give some valuable tips and guidance to people who are looking for career directions.

Here is where I am right now.

I started a CS degree in Networking and Security in January of this year. I've always been one of those people every friend and family member give a laptop to fix, remove viruses, check security settings, give tips, reinstall OS, upgrades, etc. All of this has been a hobby of mine, but I've never found coding an area of interest which I know could have brought me a solid job and a good pay along with it. On the other hand, cloud technology, virtualization and information security are the areas of interest for me.

Right now, I work as a work study in the IT department at one of the universities, as a "security analyst". I have a few programs that I work with daily, like FortiAnalyzer and Solarwinds Log and Event Manager for log and network traffic analysis and reporting, Qualys Express for vulnerability and asset management. I am part of the incident response team when there are tickets related to InfoSec area on the staff or faculty machines on campus. It is all very interesting and was pretty new and hard at first, but I embraced this challenge.