Options

Cliche Dilemma - Advance or Soldier on

echo_time_catecho_time_cat Member Posts: 74 ■■□□□□□□□□
So, a bit of context.

I work as an Escalations Lead (Ticketdesk) in an ISP/Telco's Tech Support Department. I've been in this role for 15 months, and have done pretty well.

I have a wide variety of work/tasks in addition to Tickets and Escalations. I train all Tier 1 (residential services) and Tier 2 (enterprise/corporate services) agents (equivalent of CCENT material). Document troubleshooting procedures and hardware in our internal wiki. Take part in on-board meetings for mergers or new services, Co-Manage/maintain our KB (knowledge base) server. I really enjoy this variety, and have learned a lot the past 15 months. Prior to this I was a Tier 2 agent.

I also cover for Teamleads now and then, and know their job pretty well.

That brings me to the point of my post. There is a Full-Time Teamlead position opening up, and I'm already being prodded by others to apply for it.

The Teamlead position would come with a shift premium/bump in pay that amounts to about 10% more than I earn now. It would be more responsibility for my shift, as well as some added duties (like watching Nagios, ok'ing employee breaks, assisting agents...). I would also have the joy of taking escalated calls from angry customer's who demand a Supervisor, and be judged on my shift service levels, which as I see it are primarily affected by scheduling and projections (neither of which I have control over). My schedule would be about the same as it is now.