Options

Starting pay for Security+ Cert??

Sookie22Sookie22 Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello everyone, I'll being getting my security+ certification soon and already have my foot in the door with a government contractor in Washigton, DC. I'll have to get a security clearance in order to work for this contractor as well as have the Security+ certification training completed. I'll probably start off as help desk and work my way up. I have no IT experience and am currently working on my degree. My question is how much can I expect to start with as far as salary?

Comments

• Options
    slinuxuzerslinuxuzer Member Posts: 665 ■■■■□□□□□□
    glassdoor.com is going to be your best source of information for that. Also realize the geographic region your in dictates a good bit of this, D.C. is 40% higher cost of living than where I live.
  • Options
    joshlikewhatjoshlikewhat Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
    That is definitely the magic question and the first one that comes when studying for a new cert!

I can only attest to the landscape in my city, Austin TX.

Entry level security administrators with Security+ would probably make around 50-55k here. As someone who frequently interviews security engineers, I can honestly say that certifications mean very little to me. I just offered someone with a bachelors degree and a CISSP 53k because he was so green (he accepted)... and someone with no certificates and a 10 years of experience 90k (waiting to hear back...)

I think that certs are an excellent HR filter... but after that its all about your experience :)
  • Options
    TechGuru80TechGuru80 Member Posts: 1,539 ■■■■■■□□□□