Options

How did you find your mentor?

cbolarcbolar Member Posts: 34 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hey everyone, how did you find that person who was interested in helping you expand career. I'm in a unique position because I work for a large financial institution in the area, unfortunately I am still a contractor. I say unique because I'm also the only contractor that gets to work on projects outside of the usual help desk work. The main project I work with is creating policies and configuration for Casper Suite which is an all in one management tool for OSX and iOS based devices. It functions same way we manage access and control in AD and software and updates in SCCM. While it's nice to be known as the Apple guy that fixes problems, I want to grow into an administrative role. I want something that helps me develop Linux, OSX and Windows skills that will cement my foundation. After that I wan't to understand networking and take the Cisco path. I'm learning this technology on my own when I can but I don't have someone to help me learn it the right way. I love my team and I'm happy to work with them but I also want to progress in my career. How did a mentor work out for you and what has it done for your career?

Comments

• Options
    lsud00dlsud00d Member Posts: 1,571
    Mentors come in all shapes and forms so be cognizant that it might not be a Yoda/young Jedi type situation.

Show interest, show curiosity, show initiative, make conjectures, and for the love of all that's holy if you can Google something, Google it before you ask someone for help. People want to help those that will not waste their time, and mentorship is a two-way street so make sure your company is pleasant to keep.