Options

Lots of frustration in my local IT job market lately.

Shoe BoxShoe Box Banned Posts: 118
I have been doing Desktop Support for companies for 3-1/2 years, mostly contract positions for XP to 7 migrations, and hardware refresh / support jobs. A few months here, a few months there, seems like a nice variety of experience.

Nowadays, In my local job market (Pittsburgh), I have been having a lot of frustrations.

The last contract assignment ended in April. Since then I got a few very short term assignments, like a week here and a week there, too small to even put on the resume. I have been on the phone with all the local tech employment agencies, I get calls from one or another nearly every day saying how this job is hiring or that job will open up next week, in addition to my own job searching on Dice, Indeed, Careerbuilder, Craigslist, etc. These are Desktop Support jobs I am very qualified for. Things I can do and have done, yet there's only been a couple interview requests.

And I have to ask these employers - what the hell is your problem? Did you even read my information? You obviously didn't if you didn't call me about this job that I have done and know more about than the HR person posting the ad. I really don't like having to explain my work history to HR people. They know nothing about IT, and yet they are judging my qualifications.

I am going this week for my Cisco CCT R&S certification test, and should be passing it. That will immediately go on the resume and get emailed to everyone, and I hope it picks up the offers considerably, or at least the interview requests.

I am trying to move to the next notch up from Desktop Support, maybe a Data Center Tech or Junior Network Admin, or some such thing. And I have heard from others that there seems to be a lot of resume collecting and not much actual interviewing lately. Frustrations all around.

Comments

• Options
    anhtran35anhtran35 Member Posts: 466