Options

Trying to break into IT, need guidance.

seanBubbyseanBubby Member Posts: 11 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey, so my name is Patrick Abraham and I am new to these forums. I am currently trying to plan out my immediate future and I am kind of/ sort of lost.

I will be obtaining an Associates degree in Computer Information Systems in the next 3 months and I am currently on an internship. My internship is coding related and I absolutely hate coding.

I am more into computer hardware and helping others with fixing issues they may have, but I know/feel like I am a total newbie when it comes to even that. I've seen terms like CCNA and subnet and I've never even heard of them before. I know the most recommended path is to start at the help desk, but is that the best way? And is it possible to obtain a help desk job with only an Associates and my limited knowledge? I know the basics of computers and I have extreme passion to learn anything necessary. Also, I'm definitely going to pursue a bachelor's unless I find employment, in which case I'll just work hard and gain experience, but I want a little bit of insight if anything.

Also, this is my resume. Without much (if at all) experience, is there anyway to spice it up? Is it decent enough for the level that I'm at?

https://onedrive.live.com/redir?resid=179CC70B2767E93B!2959&authkey=!AOslZIcEl1WcyLI&ithint=file%2cpdf

(If this is the wrong place, totally sorry. It seemed like the best place to put this thread)

Any and all help is appreciated!

Comments

• Options
    NetworkNewbNetworkNewb Member Posts: 3,298 ■■■■■■■■■□
    With an internship and an associates degree it is definitely possible to get a helpdesk position. I would recommend continuing on and getting your bachelors degree and get the Comptia A+ cert or an entry level Microsoft cert too though!
  • Options
    bpennbpenn Member Posts: 499