Options

Long time lurker currently studying for CCENT

SkandiluzSkandiluz Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey guys!

I've browsed this forum (mostly in the CompTIA part) for a while and I started studying for the net+ about 6 months ago using the exam cram. I eventually lost interest because I felt it wasn't really teaching me anything, not in a sense that I knew everything but that it was just throwing words, acronyms, charts etc. and saying "memorize this". Long story short, I stopped studying for it. Fast forward to 2 weeks ago when a Database friend of mine told me that I should focus on something vendor specific and he suggested Cisco, which I've never really bothered to touch since my undergrad days. After reading and browsing the Cisco forum for about two weeks, I decided to order the CCENT/CCNA official cert guide by Wendell Odom on Monday and I just received it today!

I'm super excited to start going through this book but honestly, this book is heavier than both of my network+ books, so it is a bit intimidating. My aim is to take my cert in two months, providing all goes well, and I can subnet pretty decently but no where near that 30 seconds or less. I'll be asking quite a few questions and I do like how everyone is extremely helpful here. :D

*Side note* The name "skandiluz" is my ign for games because I thought it was pretty fitting. Most people now call me skandi or skandz for short.

Comments

• Options
    JameswebJamesweb Member Posts: 144
    Hey man, good luck on your CCENT/CCNA studies! I am studying for mine right now, have the Wendell odom book, Todd Lammle book and exam cram and so far going through the subnetting chapter in lamlee's book. A little slow going but it is clicking. That odom book is a thick one and can be a little intimidating at first.
    Currently working on CCENT/CCNA and CAPM
  • Options
    MrPuzzlezMrPuzzlez Member Posts: 89 ■□□□□□□□□□