Options

Another LAB question

GDainesGDaines Member Posts: 273 ■■■□□□□□□□
Apologies if these have been answered before, I've read lots of lab threads and not really found my answers.

I'm currently studying for CCNA R&S, and if I manage to pass it I'm quite interested in CCNA Voice. With this in mind I've already bought the following kit:

1x WS-C2960-24TC-L
2x WS-C3560-24PS-S
1x 1841 Router with WIC-1T
2x 2811 Routers (one with 2x WIC-1T + 1x WIC-1ADSL)

Pretty sure everything has standard ram and CF, and all running IOS 12.something (I'll update my kit list to include ram/CF size and IOS versions if this information becomes necessary to answer my questions). I've gone for 60-series switches as the Todd Lammle book I've started with says the current exams are based on these, and they barely cost any more than people were asking for older 50-series kit and 2600XM routers. I'm also currently considering adding a 3845 Router, but non of the lab guides I've read seem to mention 37xx and 38xx series kit as I guess they used to be expensive, so I'm not yet sure if it will offer any other benefits than being more expandable and having gigabit Ethernet.

QUESTION 1: For the frame relay lab(s) I suppose I could simply add a WIC-1T to my second 2811 and buy a couple of DB60 DCE/DTE crossover cables, but is it worth considering getting a 3845 router with an NM-4T and move one of the WIC-1T cards to the other 2811 so that all 3 existing routers have one each? Would a 4-router setup be better than a 3 for this lab?

QUESTION 2: If I go the 3845 route can I add an NM-16ESW-PWR (for 16x 100/100 PoE Ethernet ports to run VoIP phones) or will I need something newer? And can it be fitted at the same time as the NM-4T? If I go the cheaper route and just add a WIC-1T to my second 2811, would the NM-16ESW-PWR work in a 2811?