Options

MS in Cyber Security for an old man

spurteespurtee Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi
I'm a database professional, 28 years in the industry. Worked for Oracle for 15 years.
I'm thinking about going back to school to get a Masters in Cyber Security.

I am 50 years old and wonder if it's worth it. I've made big money in the past and could again, but I'm doing fine financially.
Have looked at lots of schools. National University currently looks most interesting - curious about monthly classes.
Have considered getting certs, that will expire, but the Masters is probably better.

Given the advances in medicine, I expect the retirement age to be raised soon, which means I could likely have another 20 years of work ahead of me.

Found this board of seemingly reasonable participants and thought I'd pose a question.
Thanks

Steve

Comments

• Options
    stryder144stryder144 Member Posts: 1,684 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Welcome to the forum, Steve. I think it would be worth it, to be honest. It never expires, which is nice. Which concentration would you go for?
    The easiest thing to be in the world is you. The most difficult thing to be is what other people want you to be. Don't let them put you in that position. ~ Leo Buscaglia

Connect With Me || My Blog Site || Follow Me
  • Options
    636-555-3226636-555-3226 Member Posts: 975 ■■■■■□□□□□
    If you can afford it then go right ahead. To be honest, in my region a Masters won't really do much for you. Employers are sucking up anybody with any security skills as quickly as possible. Learn as much as you can about Topic X, apply for a job, get hired in a week. A masters will help you stand out from the crowd, but to be honest you'd get hired without a masters as long as you knew what you were doing. In terms of what? General security analyst (know a little bit about everything, leaning towards networking more than others), incident response/forensics.
  • Options
    spurteespurtee Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□