Options

How do I impress professionals when I have no experience? HELP!

JPOhNoesJPOhNoes Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
I don't know if this is the right place to post this, but I need some help.

I met a man who manages a cyber security department for his company and he told me to go "learn how to hack" or learn as much as I can about it in 3 months. Then he would get me a meeting with the team and they will determine whether or not I am worth hiring. Which would allow me to bypass HR. Now, I have no experience with computers aside from games and Google. Now, he left it kind of open ended, mentioned something about starting out shadowing and setting up their equipment, or something in customer service where I would need to understand the "lingo" as he put it. I picked up A+ Network+ and Security+ books, I went ass backward. I started with security+, read through it, mostly vocabulary, concepts, memorization. went back to A+ read through it took notes studied<---this took much longer. A lot more information to process and I still feel like I know jack ****......I have yet to open the Network+ book. this has been in a little over a 2 month span, I work full time, so I cant sit and study for hours on end, Id like to think I'm keeping a pretty great pace. What I mean is, if someone on the "team" said, tell me how you would implement a NIDS I would say "No clue." So how am I supposed to impress these people when I meet them? I have less than a month. Any advice?

Comments

• Options
    MowMow Member Posts: 445 ■■■■□□□□□□
    How did you meet this man? This sounds like a spy movie or something. Do you have regular contact with the team? How did it come up that they would give you a meeting? Need more info to give advice on how to "impress" these people, but it honestly sounds like they're giving you the run around, or you're having fun on here.
  • Options
    CodyyCodyy Member Posts: 223 ■■■□□□□□□□