Options

Military to Civilian - How marketable am I?

LMVenLMVen Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Just wondering what I can expect when moving over to the civilian sector in about a year and a half. I have 12 years network admin/technician experience, with a few years managing a work center of about 14 other technicians. I also have some security experience, an Associate's, and the following certs: Net+, Security+, CCNA, and CEH. No Bachelor's as of yet.

Comments

• Options
    MTciscoguyMTciscoguy Member Posts: 552
    Sounds like you are real marketable, I just secured a private sector job yesterday and I spent 30 years in the Army, so if you have your certs and you have the experience, I am sure somebody will hire you, I only convinced myself to go back to work about a year ago and only really got serious the last couple of months and finally got hired.
    Current Lab: 4 C2950 WS, 1 C2950G EI, 3 1841, 2 2503, Various Modules, Parts and Pieces. Dell Power Edge 1850, Dell Power Edge 1950.
  • Options
    Concerned WaterConcerned Water Member Posts: 338 ■■■■□□□□□□
    You'll be fine with those certs and experience. Especially if you have at least a Secret clearance.
    :study:Reading: CCNP Route FLG, Routing TCP/IP Vol. 1
    SWITCH [x] ROUTE [ ] TSHOOT [ ] VCP6-NV [ ]
  • Options
    LMVenLMVen Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Cool, I was a bit worried that not having a BS would limit me quite a bit, especially in the non-military contracting world on the civilian side.
  • Options
    TechGuru80TechGuru80 Member Posts: 1,539 ■■■■■■□□□□
    LMVen wrote: »
    Cool, I was a bit worried that not having a BS would limit me quite a bit, especially in the non-military contracting world on the civilian side.