Options

Tell me about your Data Center job.

Shoe BoxShoe Box Banned Posts: 118
I have been doing Desktop Support for over 3 years, recently got my CCT, and am currently studying the VMware VCA materials to get my VCA6-DCV. My goal is to move more into networking, and preferably into data center maintenance and operations.

I would like to hear from people who work in data centers or have worked in them previously. How big was it (square feet of raised floor space), what was your job title, what certifications did you have or were required to get for your job, what did you do on a daily basis, what did you need to learn more of on the job, etc.

I'm trying to learn all I can, there's a limited number of data centers around here and I don't want to go applying to them all with not enough qualifications or training or certifications to be taken seriously.

Comments

• Options
    kohr-ahkohr-ah Member Posts: 1,277
    So my previous job I helped build our cloud department.
    I had no VMWare training, Had my CCNP, and a few other certs.

Day to day I did everything from rack and stacks to NetAPP administration, spin up new vm environments in VMware or Hyper-V, new customer environments, do data backups with EMC, Veeam, and more.
    Build customer VRFs to access their data, storage space, etc.
    Give them analytics by building them a custom solarwinds profile on our enterprise profile, etc.

It was a lot of fun but I got to interact with a lot of people which helps keep me going.
  • Options
    lsud00dlsud00d Member Posts: 1,571