Options

Why didn't my router settings save?

GDainesGDaines Member Posts: 273 ■■■□□□□□□□
Firstly may I apologise that this seems such a newbie question, but as I begin to self-study for my CCNA this is the first time in my career I've ever accessed a Cisco IOS, so to that extent I am a newbie.

This is the output from a "show version" on the router I'm using. I'm not currently knowledgeable enough to understand why two versions of IOS are listed or what IOS I'm actually running - 12.4(6)T7 fc5 or 12.4(13r)T fc1. I'm also not yet familiar with the differences between the system image levels, but I'm sure I'll learn as I get more into this. I've included it just in case it has any relevence:

Cisco IOS Software, 1841 Software (C1841-SPSERVICESK9-M), Version 12.4(6)T7, RELEASE SOFTWARE (fc5)
ROM: System Bootstrap, Version 12.4(13r)T, RELEASE SOFTWARE (fc1)
Router uptime is 16 minutes
System returned to ROM by power-on
System image file is "flash:c1841-spservicesk9-mz.124-6.T7.bin"

I'm using Todd Lammle's book (and Google) as I look at Cisco IOS for the first time and try to get to grips with it. I configured a number of settings on my router, logging out and back in as I went to see changes take effect, some of which included setting the following:

> time and date
> secret password
> motd banner text
> hostname
>auxiliary password and logon requirement
> telnet password and logon requirement
> enabled ssh and configured a username and password
> encrypted all passwords

At the privileged mode prompt I typed router#copy run start at different stages and received no notifications to suggest any errors even after logging out and back in a few times, but then I then power cycled the router.