Options

CISSP 2015 passed first attempt - some tips and notes

GlobalNomadDadGlobalNomadDad Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi folks - greetings from Jerusalem! I passed the exam yesterday, and wanted to write up what worked for me for those of you still studying out there.

First some background - I have 15 years of experience working in both Network Administration and IT Security. Prior to that, I was a software developer - mainly working with database development. I can’t stress enough that real world experience does help when it comes to this exam. For the vast majority of the questions I saw yesterday, I would ask myself something along the lines of “what answer would make sense my workplace environment?” Of course you’ll need at least four years of experience to get credentialed. Experience alone probably won’t get you a pass. Though some of the CISSP domains were fairly familiar to me, others certainly were not - so I did need to add a lot of self-study on top of what I do doing the work day.

I started studying in February - reading Eric Conrad’s CISSP Study Guide, Second Edition cover to cover, and taking notes (almost 60 pages worth by the end) as I went along. I used Shon Harris’ CISSP All In One Study Guide, Sixth Edition to “dive deep” into topics I needed more information on. It was also my primary “reference material” - where I’d go to look up topics as I had questions. The change of domains in April set me back… I had planned to take the exam in May, but was worried that there would be a lot of new material covered - material which is not yet covered in decent study guides. I self-studied exclusively - no boot camps or formal classes.