Options

Am I Being Unreasonable?

The Silent AssassinThe Silent Assassin Member Posts: 39 ■■□□□□□□□□
So, I have been doing Service Desk work for 5 years and it is time for me to move on. Honestly, it was time to move on 3 years ago but that is another discussion for another time. Anyway, I have placed my resume out there on the usual sites CareerBuilder, Monster, Dice and Indeed. When I am contacted by recruiters it is for the same thing I am doing now, which is primary phone support. I have started telling recruiters that if my primary role is going to be phone support I am not interested. My goal is get off the phones for good, is it wrong or unreasonable to set such a requirement for the next stop on the IT journey?

I have the CompTIA trio and CCNA:S.

Comments

• Options
    cyberguyprcyberguypr Mod Posts: 6,928 Mod
    Perfectly fine and long overdue.
  • Options
    networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    Agreed, perfectly fine. As we all know experience is king in IT. Recruiters are looking for experienced people to fill roles. You have the phone experience so you're the perfect person for them to call. Just say thanks but no thanks and see if they have something else.
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
  • Options
    beadsbeads Member Posts: 1,531 ■■■■■■■■■□
    TSA;

Quite understandable. After decades of tech time, paid experience and throw in a certification or two over the years, I too am still annoyed with calls asking me to look at a phone support position. Help desk? Really? Here's what I currently make.... Hello? Hey! You still there? Hel-llloooo! OK, bye!

Yeah often times reach for the next step up can feel like there's a rung missing from one's ladder.

- b/eads
  • Options
    cyberguyprcyberguypr Mod Posts: 6,928 Mod
    ^ yup! I am fond of my desktop support years but getting those emails/calls for Windows 7 upgrade projects for $10 an hour insult my intelligence.
  • Options