Options

Instead of getting CCNA: R&S how about?

KandinskyKandinsky Member Posts: 108 ■■■□□□□□□□
I'm thinking ahead here, I'm currently studying for the ICND1 and my goal is to have my CCENT by the end of the year. I've noticed that most people afterwards do the routing and switching exam so they get their cCNa in routing and switching. But at looking at all the other tracks Cisco offers, I'm wondering if it wouldn't be a better deal to go with a different CCNA, like security or something. I noticed that a lot of the tracks only have the CCENT as a prerequisite.

I'm not too worried about missing out on the routing and switching knowledge because there's already a good amount of networking info in the ICND1, plus I have Network+ and an MTA Network Fundamentals and also an A.S. in Network Administration.

What's the opinion of the board? What about going for CCNA: Security, or Voice or Data Center instead of the routing and switching? I'm thinking of ROI and job marketability/demand here. If anyone has any advice I'm all ears. Thanks!

Comments

• Options
    techfiendtechfiend Member Posts: 1,481 ■■■■□□□□□□
    You could choose that path. I can only speak for CCNA Security, which has a lot of overlap with R&S. Even though the security test is relatively easier, I think it would have been much more difficult without the routing and switching knowledge. CCENT is really just scratching the surface on routing and switching, CCNA just scratches a little more. CCNP is apparently when you start diving into real world routing and switching fundamentals.
    2018 AWS Solutions Architect - Associate (Apr) 2017 VCAP6-DCV Deploy (Oct) 2016 Storage+ (Jan)
    2015 Start WGU (Feb) Net+ (Feb) Sec+ (Mar) Project+ (Apr) Other WGU (Jun) CCENT (Jul) CCNA (Aug) CCNA Security (Aug) MCP 2012 (Sep) MCSA 2012 (Oct) Linux+ (Nov) Capstone/BS (Nov) VCP6-DCV (Dec) ITILF (Dec)
  • Options
    LenniusceLenniusce Member Posts: 114 ■■■■□□□□□□