Listing that im studying for my test on resume

DWitherDWither Member Posts: 34 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hello

Ive been studying for my A+ i will be taking my test the 1st week of oct. Im interested in applying for positions now. What is your guys opinion on me stating that im currently studying for my A+ on my resume. As well what about once i take and pass my 801 i would take the 802 2 weeks later. Could i put down 801 passed 802 test on 10/25 for example.

Comments

• srabieesrabiee Member Posts: 1,231 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I would only list exams that you have taken and passed. If you are simply studying for an exam with the intention of taking the exam in the near future, that is something to discuss during the interview process. Leave it off of the resume.

However, if the exam is a two-parter like the A+ and you have passed the first exam, I don't see a problem with listing that on your resume, and include something like "In progress."
    WGU Progress: Master of Science - Information Technology Management (Start Date: February 1, 2015)
    Completed: LYT2, TFT2, JIT2, MCT2, LZT2, SJT2 (17 CU's)
    Required: FXT2, MAT2, MBT2, C391, C392 (13 CU's)

Bachelor of Science - Information Technology Network Design & Management (WGU - Completed August 2014)
  • OctalDumpOctalDump Member Posts: 1,722
    So you are about 5 weeks out from the first exam? So, potentially if you got the job you still wouldn't have the cert?

Putting "A+ in progress or studying A+" on your resume will likely get you through some of the filters, the question is how it is viewed once it gets in front of a real person.